Anna Clark’s: How To Support Good Journalism

A few days ago, I decided that I was going to leave Facebook for a while. Now, I don’t know if my hiatus will be a brief respite from the filter bubbled world of my pre-Clinton-Trump naivete or if it will be permanent, but I know for sure that I need to step back and take a breath.

I knew well that I as living in in my algorithm-built filter bubble, but I think what has given me so much to think about is just how thick the walls of that bubble turned out to be.

I don’t think that my leaving Facebook will change the world or put Facebook out of business. I just need to figure out how subservient I, personally, want to be and whether I want to support Facebook’s business model by giving them my eyeballs to sell.

I don’t know what the solution will be, but I know that in an information ecosystem where half of the people of the United States of America, know SO LITTLE about the other half that the outcome of the election is such a shocking surprise means that something is sorely broken and needs to be changed.

Clearly, my time on Facebook felt like discourse. It felt like engagement. It felt like political dialogue. The problem that I had was that it turned out that my dialogue was actually nothing more than a soliloquy…

Read more here from Anna Clark on: How To Support Good Journalism

At least that’s a start…