on being a pioneer of childhood obesity …

I am a fat kid who grew up to be a relatively normal-sized adult. Though virtually everyone who has met me as an adult, met me as a normal-sized person, I don’t think most people that know me (even those who know me very well) realize how much of an endeavor it is for me to remain my “normal-size”–the hours I spend preoccupied about what I eat, how much I eat, and how much I work out.

More than anything that I think I’ve ever read, this piece from Mary McNamara in the Los Angeles Times is far and away the piece that comes closest to truly capturing MY EXPERIENCE and capturing MY RELATIONSHIP to food in words on a page.

Very much worth a read!

Critic’s Notebook: TV’s focus on childhood obesity hits home.
Take it from someone who knows: The struggle with childhood obesity, illustrated vividly on television, is a battle of both the mind and the mouth for an overweight kid.

By Mary McNamara, Los Angeles Times Television Critic

May 20, 2012

I was a pioneer of childhood obesity.

By the time I was a junior in high school, I weighed more than 200 pounds. I was a fat kid before being a fat kid made you the topic of a national conversation and the first lady’s pet project, back when Gatorade still tasted gross and no one knew how many calories there were in anything.

For most of my childhood, I was the only fat girl in my class — I can still name the other two fat girls in my grade. Now, fat kids fill the playground and the high school bleachers, including a whole new breed of fat girl who wears skin tight jeans and mid-riffs and dares anyone to say anything. Seeing them, I must admit I am torn between despair and envy…

Leave a Reply

