on a kind of bitter-sweet new year …

'Lets cheers Happy new year 2009' photo (c) 2009, nImAdestiny - license: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/

The end of vacation has come so we did our many loads of laundry (Believe me, California king-sized sheets and Costco mega-sized bath towels combined with a small apartment-sized washer/dryer unit make for MANY loads of laundry) and closed up the condo in preparation of our trip back to Lala Land. We drove up to my mom’s house to drop the car, then my sister and my mom dropped us at the airport. Though I’ve lived in Lala Land for over ten years now, leaving my “home” in Honolulu just seems to get harder and harder. I’m a big mamma’s boy and as my mom has aged I’ve come to feel like I need to treat each time I leave like it might me the last time I see my mom.

This is, actually, wonderful in some ways. Living at a distance has forced me to actually say things and tell my mom things that I might not say should I live down the street, but because I’m getting on a plane worried that I may not see my mom again I always try to thank her for all that she’s meant to me. Being Chinese-American, this is not an act that feels natural or easy. It is much more “American” than “Chinese.” all I know is that it feels right and they are things I want my mom to know so I’m glad that I get to do it. It makes saying goodbye at the end of a nice vacation, though, more than a little bitter-sweet.

On another note, being that today it the last travel day before most folk have to return to work, the airport was PACKED!!! Because I had purchase a framed photo from a work friend that I wanted to put up in the Hawaii place, for the first time in as long as I can remember, I checked a bag. The baggage drop at Delta was insane as was the line for TSA screening. Significant Other, being pretty much nicer than I in almost every way, let two sets of families move ahead of us in various lines so they could consolidate with other family members. I was was, let’s just say, not that pleased. Ultimately, though, I’m lucky to be with Significant Other because his positive karmic deposits seem to lead to wonderful karmic withdrawals just when you need them. I was feeling blue sitting in my 24-cubic inches of space in my economy seat when the Delta gate agent came by and upgraded us to … FIRST CLASS!!! Understand, the flight from Honolulu to Lala Land is a 5:30 minute ORDEAL in a 757 single aisle plane so this is a FREAKING AMAZING development!!!

I just finished my omelet, fresh fruit, and Diet Coke. I’m now watching Crazy, Stupid, Love. Its a bit of a different experience than my previous flight highlighted here or here!

Bitter-Sweet New Years just got a tiny bit less bitter and a lot sweeter!!!

One thought on “on a kind of bitter-sweet new year …

Leave a Reply

