on a small random world …

Totally random!
Yesterday, I was working with a group of twelve and thirteen year old young people. They didn’t know each other so we went around the room, introduced ourselves, and said one interesting or humorous thing about ourselves. When it was my turn, I said, “I’m Mr. Ambookgeek and I went to school with the President.” This, of course, caused a bit of a stir and the young people immediately wanted to know whether Mr. Ambookgeek was lying or not (it is exactly the kind of thing I would make up just to mess with their minds, but as it turns out … I really did go to school with “Barry Obama”).

The amazing thing is, though, one young lady caught me after we were done and said, “Did you go to P. because my aunt went to P. maybe you know her.” Now, my graduating class had four hundred kids in it. The school is the oldest independent school West of the Rockies. What are the odds that I’m going to know this young lady’s aunt. Anyway, she asked, “Do you know my aunt D.B.?”

Holy crap! Aunty D.B. as it turns out … Was my classmate!!! What are the friggin’ odds of that???

The moral of the story, I guess, is that you need to be nice to everybody you meet because twenty-five hundred miles across the Pacific away and twenty-eight years later, you might end up working with that person’s niece!!!

And in case you were wondering, no, there was nothing negative or bad that ever happened between Aunty D.B. and Mr. Ambookgeek. I promise!!!

Anyway … Weird, huh!!!

2 thoughts on “on a small random world …

  1. WHOA. So, like, does this mean there’s only two degrees of separation between me and Barack Obama?? I know you and you knew him, right?

    That’s really slick about you knowing that girl’s aunt. The world really can be an awfully small place sometimes…in a good way!

    1. “Barry Obama” was a Senior when I was a Frosh. If I rushed up to shake his hand yelling, “Hey Barry, remember me!!!” He wouldn’t know me from Adam and the Secret Service would have my face on the cement in the blink of an eye. We all knew who he was because he was a basketball star, but nobody could have ever guessed that he’d be POTUS someday. The guy we thought would be a Senator someday faded into the woodwork never to be heard from again and the #1 ranked student in our class became a flight attendant. Goes to show that high school is just … high school! LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

