on retail therapy …

So I had the day off from school for Rosh Hashanah.  I got up feeling really down and blue.  I’ve been stressing a lot over my debate team coaching obligations. The entire situation has been getting me down and I’ve been having a really difficult time sleeping.

I decided that I would NOT give in and spend the whole day in bed with the curtains drawn so I got out of the house and did some shopping.  In addition to coaching the debate team, I also teach a regular class in debate (a class, that I LOVE teaching, by the way … no stress there). I needed to pick up a DVD to use for my lesson first thing on Friday so I got dressed and headed out to a local shopping area in Santa Monica.  As it happens I found a parking space in on of the structures right next to the new T.J. Maxx where I hit the jackpot.  I found a shirt on the clearance rack and I found a set of computer speakers that I was asked to pick up for a project that Miss Martini is working on at school. I picked up my DVD and came across a book on Mad Men–Mad Men Unbuttoned, that I picked-up as well!

I stopped in for a snack at Yummy Cupcakes (the Snickerdoodle is not their best flavor …) then headed off for Costco.

The Costco haul included Sonicare Toothbrushes for S/O and me, two dress shirts that accommodate both my skinny neck and freakishly long arms, and a piece of pizza and a drink.

Have you ever noticed how everything seems so much brighter when you’re out and about spending money?

One thought on “on retail therapy …

Leave a Reply

