on states of being …

I know that this sounds like something I would make light of, but I ask not in jest.  I ask because it's something that I wish I could figure out and I'd like to know what other people think.  Here's the thing …

How do you know when you've just been grumpy and irritable due to circumstances that are probably temporary versus being in an unhealthy emotional state that needs to be dealt with professionally? 

I absolutely don't feel like I'm going to hurt myself or anyone else, but neither have I been much of a joy for my significant other or my co-workers to be around.  My intellect knows that my moods have little to do with my objectively wonderful job; my loving significant other; or anything else, but my emotion just seems to overwhelm my intellect. 

How do you know when you just need to suck it up, put on a smile, and keep going and when you need to see a professional and get some good therapy and maybe a prescription for Valium, Prozac, or Lithium?  (Okay, that last part was in jest …)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “on states of being …

  1. Jest not. Being one of the living dead is not a desirable state. You can only think of hurting yourself if you are a certain distance above the bottom. At the bottom you don't have that much energy.

Leave a Reply

