on wrapping things up …

I actually still have close to a month of summer vacation left, but I'll be leaving Honolulu in just a few days.  Whenever I leave a spend, like, the last week mourning the fact that I have to leave and feeling sad.  Yesterday, S/O and I had a really nice dinner with some friends that I made in the YMCA masters swimming program this summer.  We had a great time at Haleiwa Joes in Kaneohe.  Oddly enough, the townhouse we own is about a five minute drive from the restaurant and the restaurant itself is, literally, ten yards from the entrance to the subdivision where my brother lives, but I had no idea that the restaurant existed at all.  The food was ok to good, but the atmosphere was wonderful!  The outdoor dining area overlooks a GEORGEOUS garden and the property sits at the foot of what I believe to be some of the most beautiful mountians on the planet!

This morning, S/O and I went to browse at the Aloha Stadium Flea Market which is a huge swap meet where every kind of Hawaii branded trinket and t-shirt you could ever imagine is available. I mean, you can buy ukulele's and tropical fruit and Hawaiian print seat covers for your car … Actually, S/O and I bought our Hawaiian heirloom style wedding rings at the flea market!!! 

I thought that it was particularly interesting, though, that you can get your teeth professionally whitened there as well … That's kind of weird, huh?

Anyway, we had planned to eat dinner in, but my brother and sister-in-law called and invited us out to dinner at the beach.  As kids, we very regularly went to the beach in the late afternoon and swam until the sun went down.  When we got out of the water, my mom always had a pot of stew and some hot white rice (people in Hawaii eat rice, three meals a day).  Believe me, food NEVER tastes as good as when you are just out of the water, showered and changed into clean clothes, and your mom and dad have your food served on a plate and ready to go.  I went swimming with my nieces and nephew (where Uncle Ambookgeek taught my eleven-year-old neice the secret of sweeping the base person's feet out from under them while chicken fighting)  and when we were done we had stew and rice for dinner on the beach as the sun went down.


It made me really happy that my brother is doing the same things with his kids that we did when we were growing up.  I felt like I was seven years old again and the neatest part is that I think it felt even more wonderful then when I really was seven … 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

5 thoughts on “on wrapping things up …

Leave a Reply

