on the library song …

I don't know why I thought about this out of the blue, but I used to sing this song with my kiddies back when I taught littlies.  Yes, it is dorky, but let me tell you … It is hard not to be in a good mood after singing a little ditty like this with a gaggle of seven-year-olds just before dismissal on a Friday afternoon while sitting in the shade of a huge green monkey pod tree.

Thank you Tom Chapin! 

Click here for sample.


Library Song
 
By Tom Chapin

Saturday morning and the rain is pouring.
Dad worked late last night, he's in there snoring.
Same old stuff on TV, boring.
So what if I can't go out and play, I know what I'll do today.

Chorus:
I'm going down to the Library,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.
Gonna say Hi to the Dictionary,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.

Now I like books and they like me, so when I go to the Library
I sit down in my favorite chair and check to see who's there.
Maybe one book, maybe two. "Take me home," says Winnie The Pooh,
"And if we have to travel far I'll bring my honey jar."

Oh, I'm going down to the Library,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.
Gonna say Hi to the Dictionary,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.

Sleeping Beauty yawned and said, "I'll come when I get out of bed."
But Madeline says, "Let her nap!" and jumps into my lap.
The Cat In The Hat says, "Hey, I'll go." "Don't take him!" cries Pinnochio,
"Don't take that cat to your address; he always makes a mess."

Oh, I'm going down to the Library,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.
Gonna say Hi to the Dictionary,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.

Mrs. Parker's back behind the checkout desk today.
The Cheshire Cat jumps on her head and says, "Let's play!"
But Mrs. P. says, "Goodness, are you sure you want all these?"
"Oh yes!" we shout together. She says, "Shhh! Quiet please!"

I'm going down to the Library,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.
Gonna say Hi to the Dictionary,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.

The Seven Dwarfs begin to shout, "Say, take us with you. Check us out!"
Then Cinderella gets her gown and Babar grabs his crown.
Then Curious George swings from the shelf. Along comes Mother Goose herself.
Out the door we danced and sang. The whole Library rang.

Oh, I'm going down to the Library,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.
Gonna say Hi to the Dictionary,
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out.
I'm going down to the Li… Shhh!
Picking out a book, check it in, check it out!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “on the library song …

  1. I always love Tom Chapin and now struggling to remember his Sunday morning kids show on PBS when I was a kid, I can remember "Conjuction Junction, What's Your Function" though….his

Leave a Reply

