on earth daze …

In celebration of Earth Day 2008, we had an author come to address our students about reducing their carbon footprint and doing what they could do to address global warming concerns.  She turned out to be a very good speaker and the kids ended up buying a lot of books for her to autograph.  In all honesty, I expected her to be horrible and the topic could have been deadly in our assembly situation, but she was motivating and great.  One thing that the speaker said that I thought worked very well for middle schoolers is that her goal was not for all of us to be perfect.  When people think that they need to reduce, reuse, and recycle 100% of the time, they feel like failures when the buy a bottle of water so they don't even try.  The author stressed changing ONE (perhaps small) thing each day in order to develop habits that will, when it catches on with enough people.

With this in mind, I've decided that I'm going to try to reduce my paper usage–printer, toilet, as much as possible. 

I wonder if I could get by with just one square (made of at least 30% post consumer fiber, of course) after I go #2 … I'm guessing no, but maybe … five???  🙂

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “on earth daze …

  1. I think I am going to propose that the school have a "green czar" to check how environmentally correct we are. I am appointing myself "ERB czar" and Missy will be "ERB czarina." We need more czars.

Leave a Reply

