on addiction and absence …

TV

I've been absent from my blog because I've been dealing with my new addictions.  Due to the writers' strike, my regular and ordered life based upon the TV broadcast schedule got thrown into disarray.  One by one, the shows that I looked forward to each week ran out of new episodes so I ended up turning to Netflix for my fix. 

As it turns out, Netflix is to TV addicts as methadone is to heroin addicts.  First, I discovered Courtney Cox's series, Dirt, followed very closely by the remake of Battlestar Galactica.  Now, I'm not much of a sci-fi fan, but OMG, the new Battlestar Galactica is truly addicting.  I'm in so deep that when I get to the mailbox I get an adrenaline rush if there is a Netflix red envelope in the stash, then I have to watch all four episodes and the bonus material in one night so that I can mail it back first thing the next day in order to expidite the delivery of the next installment in the series.

I've watched all of the available episodes of Dirt and Battlestar Galactica will be done before too long so hopefully I'll be back to a more regular posting schedule as a way of dealing with the symptoms of series withdrawal.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

