on the new year …

For the last few years I've made a resolution to not make New Year's resolutions, but I think that I'm going to take a few on this year so here they are:

  1. Eat healthier food.  I was a fat kid, but have been able to maintain a weight somewhere around 175lbs for about the last 20 years.  The Thanksgiving holiday, however, marked the beginning of a really disgusting festival of gluttony that has resulted in a score of 191lbs on the trusty scale at home.  I, literally, had to go out to Target and buy a pair of bigger fat pants while I was in Palo Alto at S/O's family's holiday gathering because my other fat pants were just too uncomfortable to sit in for any length of time.  Therefore I am on the ever so cliched die with a t in the New Year.  175lbs by Spring Break or bust(a zipper) trying …
  2. Talk to at least two people that I do not know every week.  S/O is ten years older than I, so I am very afraid that I will be a lonely old man with cats in the last stages of my life unless I do something to change my social habits.  I figure that I handle small little steps better than big ones so rather than say that I'm going to go out an make a whole lot of new friends, I'm just going to try to get in the habit of being a bit friendlier in my day to day life.
  3. Make more of an effort to nurture my current friendships.  I have really nice friends here in LA, but I'm really crappy about getting off of my butt and nurturing those friendships.  I have a great friends from high school that live very nearby in Pasadena and Century City (which is, literally, five minutes away) yet I haven't had them over for dinner or seen them at all for over a year.  I have to just get off my butt and call and make plans.  Same for some of the really great people that I work with.

So those are my first three New Year's resolutions in about five or six years.  We'll see how I do with them.

Happy New Year to all …

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “on the new year …

Leave a Reply

