on the most wonderful time …

Merry Christmas and happy holidays everyone! 

S/O and I just got back from Christmas morning at my brother's house.  My brother and his family live, literally, three and a half minutes down the highway from our townhouse in Hawaii.  Since neither my sister, nor I have children of our own, my brother and sister-in-law have graciously incorporated us into their Christmas morning tradition.  My nieces and nephew always have to wait for S/O, myself, my sister, her longtime boyfriend (Uncle N.), and my mom to arrive before opening their Christmas gifts.  This year we were also joined by my mom's first cousin who is actually much more like her sibling–my Uncle P.  I'm sure that sometimes it can be a drag to have to have to share their family's special days with all of us, but believe me when I say that I truly do appreciate being included.  Honestly, getting to be the third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh, and eighth wheels at the party is a real gift and I love my brother and his wife all the more for including me. 

This year, my brother coordinated our gift giving so my nieces and nephew got a Nintendo Wii system along with some of the necessary peripherals.  S/O and I gave them Guitar Hero III for the Wii.  I'm not much for computer or online gaming, but I must say that I just might have to go out and buy myself a Wii!!!  Uncle Ambookgeek was a bit of a Wii hog once he finally got his hands on the controller and they loaded the tennis game for me. 

It's time for our mid-afternoon Christmas Day nap.  Tradition dictates that after watching the gift opening orgy and having Christmas breakfast at my brother's, S/O and I usually head out to the beach and take our naps there, but for the first time in about eight years, it is too rainy to hit the beach so we're back home in our townhouse for nap time.

We'll probably meet up with my mom, sister, and Uncle for dinner again tonight. 

What a great day.  It is really special when you have days like these and you get to think to yourself, "Geez, I may not be rich and I may not be famous, but I live a pretty freakin' charmed life …" 

Wishing all of you the very best and may each and every one of you live the charmed lives that you deserve!!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “on the most wonderful time …

  1. how fun! That's how I feel about joining my family for X-mas. I appreciated it 🙂 The kids are hilarious. Happy Christmas! And Happy new year!We need the boss lady to buy a Wii for the office 🙂

Leave a Reply

