on my birthday orgy!!!

Okay, calling it an "orgy" might be a bit of a stretch, but I did have a nice birthday! 

S/O took me to lunch at Philippe's in downtown.  I've wanted to hit this LA landmark for years and I finally got there.  Like many restaurants that become iconic for one reason or another, Philippe's (Home of the original French Dip sandwich), is a bit touristy in the sense that there are, literally, motor coaches full of tourists that get dropped off to eat there.  It was nice to find, however, that Philippe's still serves a pretty damned great sandwich!!!  It isn't exactly like they're giving their sandwiches away for FREE (I mean, they have to tack on the extra Disneyesque premium fee for its historic significance and all …), but at least I was able to see why the place has been in business for so many years. 

I had a pork sandwich, slaw, a Diet Coke, and some apple pie (I know I said that I was going on a roughage diet in an earlier post, but its my birthday!!!  Cut me some freakin' slack!!!) I'd go back.

After lunch, S/O and I went down to another Downtown LA destination–Santee Alley.  I've heard about "The Alley" for years.  Apparently it is THE place in LA to get cheap (And I'm guessing counterfeit) stuff along with cheap off label stuff.  It was a lot more extensive and a lot more vibrant than I had expected it to be so, while we didn't buy anything, we had a great time.  It is one of the only places in LA that really makes me feel like I'm in a a real "city."  Santee Alley is very much like Chinatown in NYC (Except, of course, everybody's not Chinese … go figure …). 

As if a French dip sandwich and a day of browsing counterfeit goods wasn't enough, I got to choose a place for dinner!!!  For some reason I'm just so not into going out to eat someplace nice right now that I decided on Norm's (Yes, I have plebeian tastes …). 

And in my own defense, I have to say, the Norm's Rib dinner special for $9.99 is hard to beat.  They weren't THE best ribs I've ever had, but they were still pretty damned good. 

All in all, a very nice day to celebrate actually reaching what I hope is officially going to be middle aged.  I don't want to die young (What some people find great about that, I'll never know …), but I also don't want to die last in my small group of friends and family–I think that in this arena it is good to shoot for being "high average."  The way I figure it, barring, some huge advances in medicine that would allow me to be healthy and vibrant for a lot longer than people can be today, I'd like to make it comfortably to my mid 80s then just go happily and peacefully when the time is right!

Geez, I'm 43 … I don't really fully understand how I got to be this old, but I must say that 43 is really not that all bad.  For me at least, it's a lot happier than 23 was … Or 33 … And I was pretty happy at 23 and 33 so … Thank you, life … And especially thank you to all you people who make my life a happy one …

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “on my birthday orgy!!!

  1. Awwwwww….. This was such a great / feel good post! AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!! I'm so glad you had such a good one! Ribs for $9.99??? How cool is THAT?! I love your philosophy on getting older – not wanting to be the LAST one to die and all. I just turned 41 and I have to agree with you… 21 wasn't that great and neither was 31 41 is definietly good! I just wish I still LOOKED 21! lol

Leave a Reply

