on figs and grocery store vigilanteism …

Alas … today is the VERY LAST day of my summer vacation as I will have to return to the big building with lots of books and lots of teenagers making lots of noise in the next few days. 

It did, however, occur to me that in spite of the fact that I just do not feel like going back to work, it may be a good thing for me in the long run.  You see, when I have too much time on my hands, I begin to obsess about things that I really should just let go.  Take figs for example.  In my previous post I wrote about watching a man eating a whole lot 'o fruit in the produce section of Whole Foods the other day.  Well, today I happened to be hanging out at Trader Joe's (It is just a coincidence that I'm hanging out at these granola oriented juke joints … But I digress …).  As I was eyeing the baskets of organic figs, a woman pushed her way in front of me, ripped the tape off of the container of figs, took one out and ATE IT!!!  WTF???  WTF???  WTF???  On top of that, she knocked about four other containers of figs to the ground, then took her cart and walked away leaving me and another exasperated woman to pick up after her!!!  I ask again … WTF???  Now, I'm not a confrontational person (People like Scooterkitty who have observed me working with teens might disagree, but believe me … I'm generally not one to confront people in public …), but this second fig offender in the space of three days was just too much to take.  The vigilante in me just kicked in out of nowhere.  After picking up the baskets of figs and having a short discussion with (previously introduced) exasperated woman, I marched off after fig muncher and very politely said, "Excuse me ma'am, but you knocked over some things back there." 

I barely finished my sentence when she said, "Oh the figs?"  Well, duh … Obviously she knew EXACTLY what she knocked over!!! 

So I said, "Yeah, the figs!  And also, you shouldn't rip the tape off the containers and eat the fruit, that's bad, rude behavior, and you shouldn't do that!!!" 

By this time, the woman's husband (I think … male companion at the very least) came over to check out our little "discussion," but he didn't say anything.  He just stared. 

Fig woman began to try to justify her fig shoplifting by arguing that, "It was just … blah, blah, blah …" 

I had decided that I wasn't going to discuss anything or listen to her so I just put up my hand and said, "Save it … But stop making me and all the rest of these honest PAYING customers pay for your freakin' snack at Trader Joe's!"

I mean, okay, it was one friggin' fig, but since when did it become okay for people to steal stuff like this???  All I know is that I never got the memo saying that, that was okay!!! 

Am I nuts?

I mean, okay, yes I know I'm nuts … But is it over the top for me to be so pissed about figs???

I think that when I get back into the swing of working I'll be too exhausted to worry about people eatin' produce … So that's why it's probably better for me to go back to work. 

Does this make sense?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

One thought on “on figs and grocery store vigilanteism …

  1. YAY!!! I am so glad you told her off. What an entitled…ummm (insert expletive here)! That is such entitled behavior. And then just leaving her mess? Aghhhh! I would have been totally pissed. I told you I went to Little Caesars and how this woman was just taking dipping sauces and cans of soda right? didn't even pay for it! WTF! lame.

Leave a Reply

