so cool …

I wasn't a very good student in high school.  My writing, in particular, pretty much sucked.  That's why it is just too cool that I just got an e-mail from the professor of an online class that I'm taking, actually complimenting a short thing that I wrote for class!  How cool is that?  You know, I'm already into my forties, but his e-mail message made me realize how important the small stuff in life can be.  There's that saying, "Don't sweat the small stuff …" but you know, I'm really happy that my professor took the time to do that particular "small thing." It wasn't small to me.  I guess you can never know when something that seems small to you will turn out to be important to someone else.  Unfortunately, I guess it can also work the other way.  I wonder if Mr. Devlin from tenth grade English ever knew that the "constructive criticism" he gave me about my writing pretty much did nothing more than crush my confidence for a long time … um, like for 25 years!  Oh my … I hope I haven't said things to my students that have made them feel that way.  If I have, I hope that they'll be able to forgive me.  Mr. Devlin, I want you to know that I forgive you for being such a horrible bastard all those years ago …  :-) 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

